Government Law

The Government Law Section provides assistance and support to public and private practitioners of local government law. This Section provides a forum for Section members to share ideas, research materials and experiences in this specific field of law. The Section provides an opportunity to establish contact with leading practitioners in the field.  A Section Newsletter is published for Section members addressing issues in this area of law and providing detailed information on the latest events and trends in the field.  

Newsletters:

Winter 2013 

 

Bar Hosts the 2013 Section Orientation Session
Over 50 new Section Officers attended the FY 2013-2014 Orientation Session in August 2013. The half-day program is designed to familiarize new Section leaders with their duties and brief them on resources available to them through the Bar. This year's session included an overview by MS Bar President Guy Mitchell.

Government Law.JPG

Representing the Government Law Section are Melissa Carleton, Chair, and Danny Griffith, Vice-Chair.


Government Law Section
2014-2015 Executive Committee

Chair 
Danny Griffith 
Griffith & Griffith 
P O Drawer 1680
Cleveland, MS 38732-1680
Phone: (662) 843-6100
Fax: (662) 843-8153
Email: danny@griffithlaw.net

Vice Chair 
Chris Waddell 
Balch & Bingham LLP 
P O Box 22587
Jackson, MS 39225-2587
Phone: (601) 965-8161
Fax: (888) 201-2067
Email: cwaddell@balch.com

Secretary 
Brian Sanderson 
CARDINALGROUP 
312 Washington Ave
Ocean Springs, MS 39564-4628
Phone: (228) 875-1908
Fax: 
Email: bsanderson@cardinalgroupllc.com

Past Chair 
Melissa Carleton 
Office of the Attorney General MS Band of Choctaw Indians
P O Box 253
Union, MS 39365-0253
Phone: (601) 656-4507
Fax: (601) 656-5861
Email: melissa.carleton@choctaw.org

Member at Large (8/2012-7/2015)
Lane Reed 
McGehee McGehee & Torrey 
P O Box 188
Meadville, MS 39653-0188
Phone: (601) 384-2343
Fax: (601) 384-5442
Email: mmtlaw@mmtlaw.net

Member at Large (8/2013-7/2016)
Jody Neyman 
Smith Phillips Mitchell Scott & Nowak LLP 
P O Box 346
Hernando, MS 38632-0346
Phone: (662) 429-5041
Fax: (662) 429-0107
Email: jody@smithphillips.com

Member at Large (8/2014-7/2017)
Perry Sansing 
University of Mississippi 
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: (662) 915-7373
Fax: (662) 915-5935
Email: psansing@olemiss.edu