The Taxation Section encourages improvement and efficient administration of tax law and promotes the exchange of ideas among attorneys sharing a common interest in state and federal tax law. The Section publishes a newsletter for its members and conducts an Annual Tax Law Clinic focusing on current developments in this area of law.


Bar Hosts the 2013 Section Orientation Session
Over 50 new Section Officers attended the FY 2013-2014 Orientation Session in August 2013. The half-day program is designed to familiarize new Section leaders with their duties and brief them on resources available to them through the Bar. This year's session included an overview by MS Bar President Guy Mitchell.


2013-2014 Taxation Section Officers include Bill Williams, Chair, and Amanda Evans, Secretary.


Helpful links about tax law:
IRS Abusive Schemes

Taxation Section
2013-2014 Officers and Executive Committee

Bill Williams
Williams & Nichols, PA
1317 26th Avenue, Suite 320 (39501)
Gulfport, MS 39502-0060
Phone: (228) 265-8200
Fax: (228) 265-8050

Vice Chair
Don Goode
Young Wells Williams Simmons PA
P O Box 23059
Jackson, MS 39225-3059
Phone: (601) 948-6100
Fax: (601) 355-6136

Amanda Evans
Attorney at Law
PO Box 1672
Meridian, MS 39302-1672
Phone: (601) 575-0096
Fax: (601) 626-7408

Past Chair
Jim Pettis
Wyatt Tarrant & Combs LLP
P O Box 16089
Jackson, MS 39236-6089
Phone: (601) 987-5327
Fax: (601) 987-5353

Executive Committee (8/2011-7/2014)
Joshua Mars
Copeland Cook Taylor & Bush
P O Box 17619
Hattiesburg, MS 39404-7619
Phone: (601) 264-6670
Fax: (601) 264-5560

Executive Committee (8/2012-7/2015)
Erich Nichols
Walker & Nichols PA
PO Drawer 60
Gulfport, MS 39502-0060
Phone: (228) 265-8200
Fax: (228) 265-8050

Executive Committee (8/2013-7/2016)
Don Fruge'
Fruge' Law Firm PLLC
P O Box 504
Oxford, MS 38655-0504
Phone: (662) 550-4222
Fax: (877) 977-6027