YLD Committees

Bar Admissions Ceremony
The Fall and Spring Bar Admission Ceremonies are sponsored by the Young Lawyers Division. The induction ceremony enables new attorneys to be admitted to practice in all state trial courts, the Mississippi Supreme Court, the U.S. District Courts for the Northern and Southern Districts of Mississippi and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. 

The Bylaws Committee continually reviews the bylaws to insure they are current, relevant, and reflective of the YLD and is responsible for providing suggested interpretation of bylaw application and drafting amendments for presentment to the YLD Board.

Child Advocacy
The Child Advocacy Committee focuses on legal issues concerning children.

This committee will focus on how to get young lawyers involved in YLD and the legal community.
Disaster Legal Assistance
The Disaster Legal Assistance Committee coordinates emergency legal assistance for victims of natural disasters.

Diversity in the Law
The Diversity in the Law Committee encourages minority members to participate in Young Lawyer Division activities and promote minority involvement in the legal profession with college undergraduates and law students throughout the year.

Lawyer in Every MS Classroom
Lawyer in Every Mississippi Classroom is a program sponsored annually by The Mississippi Bar Young Lawyers Division. This program offers classrooms throughout Mississippi a visit from a lawyer during the school year. Any teacher, Kindergarten through 12th grade, is invited to have a lawyer visit for one class period (approximately 55 minutes).

Local Affiliates
The Local Affiliates Committee is compromised of the presidents of the local affiliate organizations across the state.

Long Range Planning
The Long Range Planning Committee is responsible for developing and amending the division's Long Range Plan, which sets out the future goals and objectives for the YLD.

High School Mock Trial
The High School Mock Trial Committee provides educational litigation experience to Mississippi high school students by sponsoring regional and statewide mock trial competitions and sending the state champion team to the National High School Mock Trial competition. Lawyers, judges and teachers throughout the state get involved in all levels of the competition as coaches, judges and committee members.

Nominations, Elections & Awards
The Nominations, Elections & Awards Committee solicits nominations and selects persons to run for a position on the YLD Board of Directors. This Committee also accepts nominations for the annual Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, which is voted on by the YLD Board of Directors.

Public Service
The Public Service Committee works to coordinate Wills for Heroes events across Mississippi. Wills for Heroes is a pro bono program created by the Wills for Heroes Foundation and works nationwide with affiliate organizations to provide free estate planning documents to America's first responders. Local attorneys volunteer their time to execute free Wills, Powers of Attorney and Healthcare Directives for first responders. Wills for Heroes events truly allow Mississippi lawyers to give back to the individuals who put their lives on the line every day for the people living in their communities.

This committee will plan and implement multiple seminars each year, including the New Lawyer Program.

Solo and Small Firm Practitioners
This committee will focus on issues facing solo and small firm practitioners.


Young Lawyers Division 2015-2016 Committee Chairs
Bar Admissions Ceremony
Matt Williams
Galloway Johnson 
2510 14th St Ste 910
Gulfport, MS 39501-1910
Phone: (228) 214-4250
Fax: (228) 214-9650
Email: mwilliams@gallowayjohnson.com

Jennie Eichelberger
Southern Poverty Law Center 
111 E Capitol St Ste 280
Jackson, MS 39201-2114
Phone: (601) 948-8882
Fax: (601) 948-8885
Email: jennie.eichelberger@splcenter.org

Child Advocacy
Jennie Eichelberger
Southern Poverty Law Center 
111 E Capitol St Ste 280
Jackson, MS 39201-2114
Phone: (601) 948-8882
Fax: (601) 948-8885
Email: jennie.eichelberger@splcenter.org

Andrew Stubbs
Forman Watkins & Krutz LLP
200 South Lamar Street, Suite 100
Jackson, Mississippi 39201-4099
Phone: (601) 974-8741
Fax: (601) 960-8613
Email: andrew.stubbs@formanwatkins.com

Disaster Legal Assistance
Michael McCabe
Butler Snow 
P O Box 4248
Gulfport, MS 39502-4248
Phone: (228) 864-1170
Fax: (228) 868-1531
Email: michael.mccabe@butlersnow.com

Diversity in the Law
Torri Martin
James L Henley Jr Standing Ch. 13 Trustee 
PO Box 31980
Jackson, MS 39286-1980
Phone: (601) 981-9100
Fax: (601) 981-9888
Email: cmartin@jlhenleych13.net

Homeless Youth
Carlyn Hicks
Mission First Legal Aid Ofc 
753 N President St
Jackson, MS 39202-3002
Phone: (601) 608-0056
Fax: (601) 608-0054
Email: carlyn.m.hicks@gmail.com

Law School Relations
Tricia Joyce
MS Dept of Human Services 
819 Jackson Ave E
Oxford, MS 38655-3817
Phone: (662) 232-2461
Email: Patricia.Joyce@mdhs.ms.gov

Lawyer in Every MS Classroom
Matthew Burris
Mayo Mallette PLLC 
PO Box 1456
Oxford, MS 38655-1456
Phone: (662) 236-0055
Fax: (662) 236-0035
Email: mburris@mayomallette.com

Local Affiliates
Corey Hinshaw
Watkins & Eager 
P O Box 650
Jackson, MS 39205-0650
Phone: (601) 965-1900
Fax: (601) 965-1901
Email: chinshaw@watkinseager.com

Long Range Planning
Jenny Baker
Tindell Law Firm 
2200 25th Ave
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone: (228) 896-8962
Fax: (228) 205-4457
Email: Jenny@TindellLawFirm.com

Mock Trial
Austin Stewart
Adams and Reese LLP 
1018 Highland Clny Pkwy Ste 800
Ridgeland, MS 39157-2057
Phone: (601) 292-0705
Fax: (601) 944-9021
Email: austin.stewart@arlaw.com

Mock Trial – Jackson Regional
Christy Malatesta
Daniel Coker Horton & Bell 
4400 Old Canton Rd Ste 400
Jackson, MS 39211-5982
Phone: (601) 969-7607
Fax: (601) 969-1116
Email: cmalatesta@danielcoker.com

Mock Trial – Coast Regional
Jaklyn Wrigley
Fisher & Phillips 
2505 14th Street Ste 300
Gulfport, MS 39501-1953
Phone: (228) 822-1440
Fax: (228) 822-1441
Email: jwrigley@laborlawyers.com

Mock Trial – Oxford Regional
Julia Jimenez
MS Department of Human Services 
819 Jackson Ave E
Oxford, MS 38655-3817
Phone: (662) 232-2461
Fax: (662) 232-0228
Email: julia.jimenez@mdhs.ms.gov

Nominations, Elections & Awards
Michael Bentley
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP 
P O Box 1789
Jackson, MS 39215-1789
Phone: (601) 592-9935
Fax: (601) 592-1435
Email: mbentley@babc.com

Public Service –Lawyers in the Libraries
Hunter Aikens
Office of State Public Defender 
P O Box 3510
Jackson, MS 39207-3510
Phone: (601) 576-4290
Fax: (601) 576-4205
Email: haike@ospd.ms.gov

Public Service – Wills for Heroes
Mimi Arthur
Forman Watkins Krutz & Tardy 
200 S Lamar St Ste 100
Jackson, MS 39201-4099
Phone: (601) 973-8976
Email: arthurm@fpwk.com

Clarence Webster
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP 
188 E Capitol St Ste 400
Jackson, MS 39201-2100
Phone: (601) 592-9906
Fax: (601) 592-9906
Email: cwebster@babc.com

Solo and Small Firm
Ann Chandler
Pittman, Germany, Roberts & Welsh, L.L.P. 
P.O. Box 22985
Jackson, MS 39225-2985
Phone: (601) 949-7186
Fax: (601) 948-6187
Email: achandler@pgrwlaw.com