Law Day Art Contest


2017 Statewide Winners Art Gallery 

2017 Statewide Winners: These students' artwork will appear at the MS State Capitol May 1st – 5th

2017 Winners by School 

2017 Winners by Grade



Each year the legal community and people across the nation celebrate Law Day USA on May 1. Law Day provides an opportunity for all Americans to celebrate and learn about our country's court system. The theme for The Mississippi Bar's 2017 Law Day Art Contest is: The 14th Amendment: Transforming American Democracy


As we approach the 150th anniversary of the Fourteenth Amendment, the theme explores how the Citizenship, Due Process and equal Protection clauses of this transformative amendment served as the cornerstone of landmark civil rights legislation, the foundation for court decisions protecting fundamental rights, and a source of inspiration for those who advocate for equal justice under law.

2017 Entry Form Flyer - Deadline has passed


Contest Rules: 

  • 1st -3rd place awards will be presented to winners at each school. 1st place winners from each school will be judged for statewide awards.
  • The contest will be judged at each grade level (K - 12).
  • Statewide winners will be presented with award certificates and artwork will be displayed in the Capitol May 1st - 5th, and also presented in the summer issue of The Mississippi Lawyer magazine.
  • Artwork must be submitted on an 11" x 14" poster board (1/4 of a standard-sized poster board) and received by Friday, April 7, 2017.
  • Artwork must be student's own work; no tracings, no glitter, no coloring pages from internet or anywhere else where outlines are already drawn.
  • Artwork must reflect the theme -The 14th Amendment: Transforming American Democracy
  • All mediums accepted. Creativity is awarded. Color is preferred.
  • Each 11" x 14" poster must have the label from the flyer (which can be enlarged) affixed to the back of the artwork that provides the required judging and contact information. 
  • Organize Entries by grade before submitting.

For more information, please contact Krissa Dobbins Easley at


2016 Winners 

2016 Statewide Winners
2016 Winners By Grade
2016 Winners By School