Government Law

The Government Law Section provides assistance and support to public and private practitioners of local government law. This Section provides a forum for Section members to share ideas, research materials and experiences. A Section Newsletter addressing issues in this area of law is published for Section members.

Newsletters:
Winter 2013 

 

Bar Hosts the 2013 Section Orientation Session
Over 50 new Section Officers attended the FY 2013-2014 Orientation Session in August 2013. The half-day program is designed to familiarize new Section leaders with their duties and brief them on resources available to them through the Bar. This year's session included an overview by MS Bar President Guy Mitchell.

Government Law.JPG

Representing the Government Law Section are Melissa Carleton, Chair, and Danny Griffith, Vice-Chair.


Government Law Section
2013-2014 Officers and Executive Committee

Chair
Melissa Carleton
Office of the Attorney General MS Band of Choctaw Indians
P O Box 253
Union, MS 39365-0253
Phone: (601) 656-4507
Fax: (601) 656-5861
Email: mtcarleton@choctaw.org

Vice Chair
Danny Griffith
Griffith & Griffith
P O Drawer 1680
Cleveland, MS 38732-1680
Phone: (662) 843-6100
Fax: (662) 843-8153
Email: danny@griffithlaw.net

Secretary
Chris Waddell
Balch & Bingham LLP
P O Box 22587
Jackson, MS 39225-2587
Phone: (601) 965-8161
Fax: (888) 201-2067
Email: cwaddell@balch.com

Past Chair
Michael Wolf
Page Kruger & Holland
P O Box 1163
Jackson, MS 39215-1163
Phone: (601) 420-0333
Fax: (601) 420-0033
Email: mwolf@pagekruger.com

Executive Committee (8/2011-7/2014)
Brian Sanderson
CARDINALGROUP
312 Washington Ave.
Ocean Springs, MS 39564
Phone: (228) 223-1922
Fax:
Email: bsanderson@cardinalgroupllc.com 

Executive Committee (8/2012-7/2015)
Lane Reed
McGehee McGehee & Torrey
P O Box 188
Meadville, MS 39653-0188
Phone: (601) 384-2343
Fax: (601) 384-5442
Email: mmtlaw@mmtlaw.net

Executive Committee (8/2013-7/2016)
Jody Neyman
Smith Phillips Mitchell Scott & Nowak LLP
P O Box 346
Hernando, MS 38632-0346
Phone: (662) 429-5041
Fax: (662) 429-0107
Email: jody@smithphillips.com