Intellectual Property, Entertainment & Sports Law Section

The Intellectual Property, Entertainment & Sports Law Section educates and informs members of developments in a variety of intellectual property areas, including trademarks, trade secrets, copyrights, patents, service marks, computer law, and other related issues. The Section is committed to keeping its members fully informed of the latest developments in this ever-expanding field and to provide opportunities to exchange ideas, approaches and experiences relating to intellectual property law. The Intellectual Property Section aids its members in keeping pace with the accelerating developments in the many fields closely associated with patents, trademarks and copyrights and provides a forum for the discussion of questions of vital interest to all lawyers concerned with intellectual property rights. 

Articles from the Summer 2012 issue of The Mississippi Lawyer Magazine
 
Intellectual Property Section Newsletters:
July 2014
October 2013
 
January 2012

September 2011
  

Helpful Section Interest Links:

The United States Patent and Trademark Office

United States Copyright Office

 

Intellectual Property, Entertainment & Sports Law Section
2022-2023 Executive Committee

Chair
Benjamin Mitchell, Ridgeland
Butler Snow
ben.mitchell@butlersnow.com
(601) 948-5711

Vice Chair
Karen Howell, Jackson
Brunini Grantham Grower & Hewes  
khowell@brunini.com
(601) 973-8750 

Secretary
Jeremy Clay, Starkville
Mississippi State University
jeremy.clay@msstate.edu        
(662) 325-8222 

Past Chair
Michael Williams, Jackson
Bradley
mcwilliams@bradley.com
(601) 592-9981

Member at Large (8/2020-7/2023)
Andrew Harris, Jackson
Jones Walker, LLP
aharris@joneswalker.com       
(601) 949-4816

Member at Large (8/2021-7/2024)
Andrew W. Coffman, Tupelo
Phelps Dunbar     
andrew.coffman@phelps.com
(662) 690-8122

Member at Large (8/2022-7/2025)
Jason E. Fortenberry, Jackson
Bradley
jfortenberry@bradley.com       
(601) 592-9972