Intellectual Property

The Intellectual Property Section was organized in September 2000 in order to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and information among Mississippi lawyers engaged in the practice of intellectual property law. Members' interests include copyright, patent, and trademark law, as well as the less traditional areas of internet law, computer related issues, and information technology law in general. The section has conducted and will continue to conduct CLE seminars to assist its members in their understanding of these areas of practice.


Bar Hosts the 2013 Section Orientation Session
Over 50 new Section Officers attended the FY 2013-2014 Orientation Session in August 2013. The half-day program is designed to familiarize new Section leaders with their duties and brief them on resources available to them through the Bar. This year's session included an overview by MS Bar President Guy Mitchell. 

Intellectual Property.JPG

Intellectual Property Section Officers for 2013-2014 include Molly Fergusson, Chair, and Jason Bush, Vice-Chair.


Articles from the Summer 2012 issue of The Mississippi Lawyer Magazine
Intellectual Property Section Newsletters:
October 2013
January 2012

September 2011
To download a copy of a summary chart with a general description of the different IP rights, click here.

Helpful Section Interest Links:
The United States Patent and Trademark Office
United States Copyright Office


Intellectual Property Section
2013-2014 Officers and Executive Committee

Molly Fergusson
Attorney at Law
228 Sivley St
Oxford, MS 38655-3124
Phone: (662) 915-6888
Fax: (662) 510-0880

Vice Chair
Jason Bush
Baker Donelson
P O Box 14167
Jackson, MS 39236-4167
Phone: (601) 351-8915
Fax: (601) 351-2424

Josh Jeanson
Mississippi State University
5460 S Woodlawn Ave Apt 3E
Chicago, IL 60615-5262
Phone: (662) 325-0668
Fax: (662) 325-0667

Past Chair
Meaghin Burke
University of Mississippi
P O Box 1848
University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: (662) 915-7775
Fax: (662) 915-5267

Executive Committee (8/2012-7/2014)
Jesse Mitchell
The Mitchell Firm PLLC
774 Avery Blvd N Ste G
Ridgeland, MS 39157-5219
Phone: (769) 300-0462
Fax: (601) 510-1981

Executive Committee (8/2013-7/2015)
Ryanne Saucier
Mississippi Public Broadcasting
3825 Ridgewood Rd
Jackson, MS 39211-6453
Phone: (601) 432-6318

Executive Committee (8/2013-7/2016)

Will Wilkins
University of Mississippi Law Research Institute
P O Box 1848
University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: (662) 915-7775
Fax: (662) 915-5267