Mississippi Title Examination Standards

To view the Second Edition of the Mississippi Title Examination Standards effective August 1, 2021, click here.

To view the 2021 changes of the Mississippi Title Examination Standards, click here.

Request for Comments (On-going)

Order your bound copy of the Mississippi Title Examination Standards Book


Purpose Statement
Title Examination Standards are guidelines intended to assist title examiners and others called upon to assess the marketability of land titles, focusing on the manner in which a prudent examiner approaches matters that may be encountered during the course of examination.

In 2018, the Executive Committee of the Real Property Section of The Mississippi Bar (the “Section”) approved the formation of a standing committee to study the formulation and development of title examination standards. After a great deal of study of the use of title examination standards in other states and many hours of research, drafting and meeting time, the committee (now the “Title Standards Board”), proposed the first set of title examination standards for use in the State of Mississippi (known as the “Mississippi Title Examination Standards” or “Title Standards”). At the request of the initial Title Standards Board, the Executive Committee directed the matter of adoption of the Title Standards to the members of the Section for vote. Adoption of the Title Standards was overwhelmingly approved by the Section on June 26, 2019.

The Title Standards Board consists of Mississippi experts in the title examination field. The Board meets at least annually to consider additional standards, amendments to existing standards, and commentary. Amendments and new standards must be presented to members of the Section for vote prior to formal adoption by the Section. The Board itself may make changes to the comments and cautions as needed. The Board welcomes comments and suggestions, which may be submitted to the Title Standards Board’s Chair.

While there is no term limit, members of the Title Standards Board serve at the pleasure of the Executive Committee. Every attempt is made to ensure that the Board’s membership consists of practitioners from throughout the State of Mississippi, with representation from small-firms and large-firms, with litigation and non-litigation experience, with residential and non-residential experience, as well as both title agents and title insurers.

Title Standards Board Chair

Kenneth D. Farmer
First American Title Insurance Company
2001 Airport Road, Suite 301
Flowood, MS 39232

Phone: (601) 863-1021
Fax: (866) 581-6491
Email: kfarmer@firstam.com


Kenneth D. Farmer, Chair - First American Title Insurance Company
William Avant - Fidelity National Title Group
Staci Blackwell - Fidelity National Title Group
Jenifer B. Branning - Branning Law Firm, P. A.
Barry Bridgforth - Henry, Barbour, DeCell & Bridgforth
Arthur Hugo Calderon - Arthur Calderon Attorney at Law PLLC
Rodney Clement - Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Danny Crotwell - Fidelity National Title Group
Lisa Jordan Dale - Law Office of Lisa J. Dale
Andy Dulaney - Dulaney Law Firm, LLP
Michael Fondren - Island Winds Title Company
Katy Fulghum - Island Winds Title Company
Charles Greer - Greer Law Firm, PLLC
Dewey Hembree - McGlinchey Stafford
Stan T. Ingram - Biggs, Ingram & Solop, PLLC
Brad Jones - Old Republic Title Insurance Company
Brannon Kahlstorf - Mitchell McNutt & Sams
Zac Atwood - Stewart Title Insurance Company
Andrew Marion - Andrew Marion, PLLC
Justin Tyler McCaughn - J. Tyler McCaughn, PLLC
Roy Perilloux - Security Title Guar. Corp. of Baltimore
James C. Rhoden - Attorney at Law
Bridgforth Rutledge - Phelps Dunbar LLP
William F. Schneller - Jones and Schneller PLLC
Robert Schwartz - Schwartz, Orgler & Jordan, PLLC
Tara B. Scruggs - Lawrence L. Little & Associates, PA
Jennifer Signs - Balch & Bingham LLP
Thomas J. Suszek - Holcomb Dunbar
Ann Corso Taylor - Jones Walker
Paul David Walley - Pine Belt Land Title, LLC
Bill Williams - Williams & Nichols, PA
Roger Williams - Watkins Eager PLLC
Alan Windham, Jr. - Balch & Bingham LLP

With a special thanks to our student researchers:
Graham Thomas - Univ. of Mississippi School of Law
Lauren Dunlow - Univ. of Mississippi School of Law