SONREEL (Natural Resources, Environment & Energy)

Section on Natural Resources, Energy and Environmental Law (SONREEL) serves as a primary forum for keeping its members informed in regard to developments in Natural Resources (mining, timber and marine resources); Energy (oil and gas and electric power); and Environmental (air and water quality, hazardous and solid waste, environmental crimes and environmental litigation) areas of the law. This Section produces CLE seminars and in conjunction with students from the University of Mississippi Law School, publishes a newsletter to assist members in keeping abreast of developments and changes in these areas of law.

 

Links

http://www.epa.gov/aljhomep/ - EPA admin law judge site
http://www.epa.gov/eab/ - EPA appeals board site
http://www.epa.gov/superfund/sites/siteinfo.htm - CERCLA/Superfund information
http://opc.deq.state.ms.us/default.aspx MDEQ data - permits, pending and issued etc.
http://ms.water.usgs.gov/ USGS - Mississippi data
http://www.fws.gov/wetlands/ - National Wetlands Inventory
http://www.usace.army.mil - Army Corps of Engineer
http://www.whitehouse.gov/ceq/ Federal - CEQ (NEPA)
http://deq.state.ms.us/MDEQ.nsf/page/Main_Home?OpenDocument - MS Department of Evironmental Quality
http://www.epa.gov/ - US Environmental Protection Agency furnishes extensive resources in environment-related information, including news, legislation, test methods, and data
http://www.sos.ms.gov - Mississippi Secretary of State
http://www.ogb.state.ms.us - Mississippi State Oil & Gas Board
http://www.psc.state.ms.us - Mississippi Service Commission
https://courts.ms.gov/ - Mississippi Supreme Court

If you have any helpful links that you would like to see added to this webpage, please send your ideas to Daniel Reed at dreed@msbar.org.

SONREEL Section
2022-2023 Executive Committee

Chair
John Brunini, Ridgeland
Butler Snow
john.brunini@butlersnow.com
(601) 985-4447

Vice Chair
Terra Bowling, Hernando
University of MS School of Law
tmharget@olemiss.edu
(662) 915-7775

Secretary
Susan Scaggs, Gulfport
Balch & Bingham LLP
sscaggs@balch.com
(228) 214-0382

Past Chair
Gene Wasson, Jackson
Brunini Grantham Grower & Hewes
gwasson@brunini.com
(601) 948-3101

Member at Large (8/2020-7/2023)
Tabatha Baum, Jackson
Office of the Attorney General   
tabatha.baum@ago.ms.gov
(601) 961-5263

Member at Large (8/2021-7/2024)
Laura D. Heusel, Ridgeland
Butler Snow
laura.heusel@butlersnow.com
(601) 948-5711

Member at Large (8/2022-7/2025)
Travis J. Conner, Jackson
Biggs Pettis Ingram & Solop PLLC
tconner@bpislaw.com
(601) 713-1192