SONREEL (Natural Resources, Environment & Energy)

Section on Natural Resources, Energy and Environmental Law (SONREEL) serves as a primary forum for keeping its members informed in regard to developments in Natural Resources (mining, timber and marine resources); Energy (oil and gas and electric power); and Environmental (air and water quality, hazardous and solid waste, environmental crimes and environmental litigation) areas of the law. This Section produces CLE seminars and in conjunction with students from the University of Mississippi Law School, publishes a newsletter to assist members in keeping abreast of developments and changes in these areas of law.

 

Links

http://www.epa.gov/aljhomep/ - EPA admin law judge site
http://www.epa.gov/eab/ - EPA appeals board site
http://www.epa.gov/superfund/sites/siteinfo.htm - CERCLA/Superfund information
http://opc.deq.state.ms.us/default.aspx MDEQ data - permits, pending and issued etc.
http://ms.water.usgs.gov/ USGS - Mississippi data
http://www.fws.gov/wetlands/ - National Wetlands Inventory
http://www.usace.army.mil - Army Corps of Engineer
http://www.whitehouse.gov/ceq/ Federal - CEQ (NEPA)
http://deq.state.ms.us/MDEQ.nsf/page/Main_Home?OpenDocument - MS Department of Evironmental Quality
http://www.epa.gov/ - US Environmental Protection Agency furnishes extensive resources in environment-related information, including news, legislation, test methods, and data
http://www.sos.ms.gov - Mississippi Secretary of State
http://www.ogb.state.ms.us - Mississippi State Oil & Gas Board
http://www.psc.state.ms.us - Mississippi Service Commission
https://courts.ms.gov/ - Mississippi Supreme Court

If you have any helpful links that you would like to see added to this webpage, please send your ideas to Rene Garner at rgarner@msbar.org.

SONREEL Section
2018-2019 Executive Committee

Chair
Niki Pace
Louisiana Sea Grant Law & Policy Program
227B Sea Grant Bldg La State Uni
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-0001
Phone: (225) 578-6342
Fax: (662) 915-5267
Email: nlpace@lsu.edu

Vice Chair
Donna Hodges
MDEQ
PO Box 2261
Jackson, MS 39225-2261
Phone: (601) 961-5369
Fax: (601) 961-5349
Email: dhodges@mdeq.ms.gov

Secretary
Troy Odom
Blair & Bondurant
PO Box 321423
Flowood, MS 39232-1423
Phone: (601) 992-4477
Fax: (601) 992-9189
Email: troy@bbfirm.com

Past Chair
Michael Caples
Butler Snow
P O Box 6010
Ridgeland, MS 39157-6010
Phone: (601) 948-5711
Fax: (601) 985-4500
Email: michael.caples@butlersnow.com

Member at Large (8/2016-7/2019)
Bradley Ennis
Balch & Bingham LLP
P O Box 130
Gulfport, MS 39502-0130
Phone: (228) 214-0416
Fax: (228) 864-8221
Email: bennis@balch.com

Member at Large (8/2017-7/2020)
Gene Wasson
Brunini Grantham Grower & Hewes
P O Drawer 119
Jackson, MS 39205-0119
Phone: (601) 948-3101
Fax: (601) 960-6902
Email: gwasson@brunini.com

Member at Large (8/2018-7/2021)
John Brunini
Butler Snow
PO Box 6010
Ridgeland, MS 39158-6010
Phone: (601) 985-4447
Fax: (601) 985-4500
Email: john.brunini@butlersnow.com