Taxation

The Taxation Section encourages improvement and efficient administration of tax law and promotes the exchange of ideas among attorneys sharing a common interest in state and federal tax law.  The Section strives to keep its Members informed on current developments involving state and federal tax law through publications and seminars.
 

The Mississippi Department of Revenue just instituted a new Offer in Compromise program. Applications can be found at  https://www.dor.ms.gov/Laws-Rules/Pages/Info-Publications.aspx
Here is an article further explaining the intent and process. 

"Compromising Tax Debt in MS" - by Ashley May

 

Helpful links about tax law:
IRS Abusive Schemes


Taxation Section
2018-2019 Executive Committee

Chair
Don Fruge, Jr.
Fruge' Law Firm PLLC
P O Box 504
Oxford, MS 38655-0504
Phone: (662) 550-4222
Fax: (877) 977-6027
Email: dfrugejr@frugelawfirm.com

Vice Chair
John Fletcher
Jones Walker
PO Box 427
Jackson, MS 39205-0427
Phone: (601) 949-4620
Fax: (601) 949-4861
Email: jfletcher@joneswalker.com

Secretary
Lacey Bailey
Barnes Law Firm, PA
5 River Bend Pl Ste A
Flowood, MS 39232-7618
Phone: (601) 981-6336
Fax: (601) 981-7075
Email: lbailey@barnes-lawfirm.com

Past Chair
Erich Nichols
Williams & Nichols PA
PO Drawer 60
Gulfport, MS 39502-0060
Phone: (228) 265-8200
Fax: (228) 265-8050
Email: enichols@wn-law.com

Member at Large (8/2016-7/2019)
Neil Rogers
Jackson Tullos & Rogers PLLC
PO Box 15517
Hattiesburg, MS 39404-5517
Phone: (601) 264-3309
Fax: (601) 264-6044
Email: nrogers@jacksonfirm.com

Member at Large (8/2017-7/2020)
Payne Atkinson
BancorpSouth Bank
PO Box 789
Tupelo, MS 38802-0789
Phone: (662) 680-2330
Fax: (662) 680-2006
Email: payne.atkinson@bxs.com

Member at Large (8/2018-7/2021)
Ashley May
MS Dept of Revenue
P O Box 22828
Jackson, MS 39225-2828
Phone: (601) 923-7412
Fax: (601) 923-7423
Email: ashley.may@dor.ms.gov