Business Law

The Business Law Section strives to maintain a tradition of excellence in programs and publications for its members. This Section encompasses attorneys who practice in the area of transactional law, regulatory law, financial law (including banking, savings and loan, and credit union), corporate law and commercial law. Section activities include publishing newsletters, including several electronic issues of "The Mississippi Business Lawyer" each year, an annual seminar on Mississippi legislative changes to business laws, an annual legal ethics seminar, and awarding scholarships to outstanding business law students at both the University of Mississippi School of Law and Mississippi College School of Law.

Issues of the Business Law Reporter

Spring 2015 Business Law Reporter
Winter 2015 Business Law Reporter

Fall 2014 Business Law Reporter

Spring 2014 Business Law Reporter
Fall 2013 Business Law Reporter
Summer 2013 Business Law Reporter
Spring 2013 Business Law Reporter
Summer 2012 Business Law Reporter
Spring 2012 Business Law Reporter
Fall 2011 Business Law Reporter
Summer 2011 Business Law Reporter
Spring 2011 Business Law Reporter

Useful links

Business News:
Business Week Magazine:
SEC-Edgar Online 
Wall Street Journal: public site

Federal/State Code:
Code of Federal Regulations:
State Code & Cases:
Tax Code:

Government Agencies:
US Patents/Trademarks:
Federal Communications Commission:
Mississippi Public Service Commission:
MS Secretary of State - Business Services Home Page:
MS Legislative Bill Status:

ABA Law Link 
Lawyers Directory from Martindale:
Law firm Directory from LexisNexis:
Citation Search from LexisNexis:
Tax Library
ABA Journal:

Federal Register
State Legislatures

Quotes and Market News:
Yahoo Finance:

Securities Class Action Clearinghouse:

Bureau of Labor Stats:

University of Mississippi School of Law Legal Links:

Mississippi College School of Law:

Business Law Section
2023-2024 Executive Committee

Slates Veazey, Jackson
[email protected]
(601) 592-9925

Vice Chair
Ceejaye Peters, Jackson
EastGroup Properties
[email protected]
(601) 953-0053

Samuel Gregory, Jackson
Butler Snow LLP
[email protected]
(601) 985-4668

Past Chair
Elisabeth Byrd, Jackson
Trustmark National Bank
[email protected] 
(601) 208-5088

Member at Large (8/2021-7/2024)
LeAnne F. Brady, Ridgeland    
[email protected]      
(601) 898-4475

Member at Large (8/2022-7/2025)
J. D. Cooley, Ridgeland
Butler Snow LLP
[email protected]
(601) 985-4526

Member at Large (8/2023-7/2026)
Laura Elizabeth Tate, Jackson
Trustmark National Bank
[email protected]
(601) 208-8816