YLD Committees

The committees of the Young Lawyers Division are responsible for the planning and implementation of many of its projects. To know more about the committees, please see the information below. 

  • Attorney Wellness: This committee's primary responsibility will be to help attorneys accomplish professional development and growth while also achieving fulfillment in their personal lives.

  • Bar Admissions Ceremony: The Fall and Spring Bar Admission Ceremonies are sponsored by the Young Lawyers Division. The induction ceremony enables new attorneys to be admitted to practice in all state trial courts, the Mississippi Supreme Court, the U.S. District Courts for the Northern and Southern Districts of Mississippi and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. 

  • Bylaws: The Bylaws Committee continually reviews the bylaws to insure they are current, relevant, and reflective of the YLD and is responsible for providing suggested interpretation of bylaw application and drafting amendments for presentment to the YLD Board.

  • Child Advocacy: The Child Advocacy Committee focuses on legal issues concerning children.

  • Communications: This committee will focus on how to get young lawyers involved in YLD and the legal community. 

  • Disaster Legal Assistance: The Disaster Legal Assistance Committee coordinates emergency legal assistance for victims of natural disasters.

  • Diversity and Social Justice: This committee will encourage minority and diverse members to participate in Young Lawyer Division activities and promote minority and diverse involvement in the legal profession. This committee will also evaluate the access and opportunity for all members of the Young Lawyers Division to actively be engaged and heard through activities within the Young Lawyers Division.

  • High School Mock Trial: The High School Mock Trial Committee provides educational litigation experience to Mississippi high school students by sponsoring regional and statewide mock trial competitions and sending the state champion team to the National High School Mock Trial competition. Lawyers, judges and teachers throughout the state get involved in all levels of the competition as coaches, judges and committee members.

  • Lawyer in Every MS Classroom: Lawyer in Every Mississippi Classroom is a program sponsored annually by The Mississippi Bar Young Lawyers Division. This program offers classrooms throughout Mississippi a visit from a lawyer during the school year. Any teacher, Kindergarten through 12th grade, is invited to have a lawyer visit for one class period (approximately 55 minutes)

  • Law School Relations: This committee will encourage participation and involvement with YLD by law students at MC School of Law and University of Mississippi School of Law. 

  • Local Affiliates: The Local Affiliates Committee is compromised of the presidents of the local affiliate organizations across the state.

  • Long Range Planning: The Long Range Planning Committee is responsible for developing and amending the division's Long Range Plan, which sets out the future goals and objectives for the YLD.

  • Nominations, Elections & Awards: The Nominations, Elections & Awards Committee solicits nominations and selects persons to run for a position on the YLD Board of Directors. This Committee also accepts nominations for the annual Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, which is voted on by the YLD Board of Directors.

  • Public Service: The Public Service Committee works to coordinate Lawyer in the Libraries events across the state. At Lawyer in the Libraries events, attorney volunteers meet with participants to provide limited legal advice in the areas of Criminal Law & Expungement, Family Law & Child Custody, Wills & Estates, and Social Security Disability. The committee also coordinates Wills for Heroes. Wills for Heroes is a pro bono program created by the Wills for Heroes Foundation and works nationwide with affiliate organizations to provide free estate planning documents to America's first responders. 

  • Seminars: This committee will plan and implement multiple seminars each year, including the New Lawyer Program and the Litigation 101 Series.

  • Solo and Small Firm Practitioners: This committee will focus on issues facing solo and small firm practitioners.
Young Lawyers Division 2022-2023 Committee Chairs

Attorney Wellness
KeNosha Whitehead, Jackson
Cru General Counsel Office
(601) 813-7043

Bar Admissions Ceremony
Reagan J. Spears, Philadelphia
MS Department Human Services
(601) 213-6073

Child Advocacy
Ashley A. Johnson, Meadville
McGehee McGehee & Torrey
(601) 384-2343

Alex Parker Shoemaker, Purvis
15th Circuit Court District of Mississippi
(601) 794-3482

Disaster Legal Assistance
Brandon H. Riches, Gulfport
Anderson Immigration Law Group
(228) 831-0025
Diversity and Social Justice
Rafael R. Green, Jackson
Gilmer & Green Legal Group, PLLC
(769) 208-8122

High School Mock Trial
Briana A. O'Neil, Jackson
Watkins & Eager PLLC
(601) 965-1900

Law School Relations
Co-Chair: Victoria M. Anderson, Jackson
Disability Rights Mississippi
(601) 968-0600

Co-Chair: Brittany E. Barbee, Oxford
University of Mississippi Law Center
(901) 299-4245

Lawyer in Every MS Classroom
Kelly A. McCall, Gulfport
Fisher & Phillips LLP
(228) 236-1764
Nominations, Elections & Awards
Janet R. Self, Hernando
MS Dept of Human Services
(662) 469-8641

Public Service
Danielle E. Ashley, Laurel
Jones County Board of Supervisors
(601) 649-1280

Stevie F. Rushing, Jackson
(601) 592-9938
Solo and Small Firm
Co-Chair: M. Denise Fondren, Oxford
Hickman Fondren, PLLC
(662) 205-0297
Co-Chair: Zeb V. Baucum IV, Laurel
Baucum Law Firm, PLLC
(601) 319-7142
Law School Chapter President (MC)
Peyton Pope
Mississippi College School of Law
Law School Chapter President (UM)
Channing Curtis
University of Mississippi School of Law