Susie Blue Buchanan Award

Nominations for 2021 Susie Blue Buchanan Solicited 
Nominations are being accepted for the Susie Blue Buchanan Award presented by the Bar’s Women in the Profession Committee to a woman who has achieved professional excellence in her field and advanced opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession.  The award is presented each year at the Price-Prather Luncheon during the Bar’s Annual Meeting. All nominations should be submitted to The Mississippi Bar, P.O. Box 2168, Jackson, MS 39225-2168 or emailed to The deadline for nominations to be received is March 1 ,2021.

This award, named for the first female lawyer licensed to practice before the Mississippi Supreme Court, honors an outstanding woman in the profession who has achieved professional excellence and has actively paved the way to success for other women lawyers.


Award Criteria and Nomination form


1999 ‐ Clare Sekul Hornsby
2000 ‐ Mary Libby Payne
2001 ‐ Carol C. West
2002 ‐ Patricia W. Bennett
2003 ‐ Evelyn Gandy
2004 ‐ Constance Slaughter‐Harvey
2005 ‐ Lenore Loving Prather
2006 ‐ Joy Lambert Phillips
2007 ‐ Kay B. Cobb
2008 ‐ Carolyn Ellis Staton
2009 ‐ Deborah H. Bell
2010 ‐ Judge Sharion Aycock
2011 ‐ Lydia M. Quarles
2012 ‐ Justice Ann Lamar
2013 ‐ Nina Stubblefield Tollison
2014 ‐ Judge Jacqueline Mask
2015 ‐ Karen Sawyer
2016 ‐ Judge Denise Owens
2017 ‐ Lynn Fitch
2018 ‐ Justice Dawn Beam
2019 - Chief Judge Donna Barnes
020 - Judge Linda Anderson