Annual Meeting

The 2020 Annual Meeting is scheduled for Thursday, April 16 at the Old Capitol Inn in Jackson. 




Old Capitol Inn

Jackson, Mississippi

April 11, 2019


Over 200 attorneys and their guests attended the Mississippi Bar Foundation’s 2019 Annual Meeting on Thursday, April 11 at the Old Capitol Inn.  Members of the Foundation gathered to honor and recognize lawyers who have made outstanding contributions to the public and profession. 

Following the reception and dinner, President David Houston III of Aberdeen presided over the annual meeting.  Houston presented a report mentioning the induction of new Fellows, the Memorial Service for deceased Fellows, and highlights of FY 2018-2019.  The slate of officers were elected. 

J. William Manuel of Jackson received the 2019 Law-Related Public Education Award for serving as Judge of the Young Lawyers Division’s High School Mock Trial Competition for almost twenty-five years.  He also coached a team for two years. This award is presented to a lawyer who has displayed excellence in enhancing the public’s understanding of the law and the legal system. 

C. York Craig, Jr. of Ridgeland received the Foundation’s 2019 Professionalism Award, the Foundation’s highest honor presented to an attorney whose life, practice, and service have displayed outstanding character, integrity, and dedication to the highest standard of the legal system and rule of law.


Twenty attorneys were elected as “Fellows” of the Mississippi Bar Foundation at the Foundation’s Annual Meeting on April 11 in Jackson. 

Pictured (2nd row, L to R) Judge Andrew K. Howorth, Oxford; William O. Luckett, Jr., Clarksdale; Thomas M. Fortner, Hattiesburg; David M. Allen, Pascagoula; James T. Dulin, Jr., Gulfport; Judge Halil S. Ozerden, Gulfport; Presiding Justice James W. Kitchens, Crystal Springs; Joe N. Tatum, Jackson; Robert James Young, Jackson; and William Liston III, Ridgeland.

(Seated, left to right) – Donna Brown Jacobs, Ridgeland; Judge Linda F. Coleman, Cleveland; Wilton V. Byars III, Oxford; J. Clifton Johnson II, Oxford; Judge Linda A. Thompson, Jackson; Granville Tate, Jr., Jackson; Alan M. Purdie, Ridgeland; Elizabeth Lee Maron, Ridgeland; and James L. Henley, Jr., Jackson.

Not pictured:  Judge Debra M. Brown, Greenville.